Author Topic: Just Entertainment!  (Read 357 times)

Offline lokesh

Just Entertainment!
« on: December 31, 2012, 12:40:32 PM »
They call him the ‘The Mass Maharaja’ down South. But thanks to the dubbed (Hindi) versions of his movies airing on satellite channels, he’s popular across
the country too. Why, Rowdy Rathore, which was a big success in Bollywood, was a remake of one of his films Vikramarkudu. Soon, we’ll be watching another one of his remakes – Kick starring Salman Khan. Here’s the man, Ravi Teja, in conversation with Vajir Singh

Let’s start with your perception about Hindi cinema.

Dus saal pehle ke Bollywood mein aur aaj ke Bollywood mein kaafi fark hai. The industry has gone to the next level in terms of performances, technicians, directors, writers… it’s all just too good! I began watching Hindi films when I was in Jaipur. I studied in the North for 16 years, which were the formative years of my life. Then we shifted to Andhra. My love for films started with Hindi films… films of Mr Bachchan.

How did the transition from Hindi films to Telugu cinema take place?

My mother tongue is Telugu as we hail from Andhra. But my dad was a pharmacist and he was constantly on the move.  Unki badli hoti rahi, aur unke saath hum bhi badalte rahe. (Laughs)

Since you’re a die-hard Amitabh Bachchan fan, did you keep this in mind while doing Don Seenu, in which you were shown as Amitabh Bachchan’s biggest fan?

(Laughs) The director came up with the idea. And being a die-hard Mr Bachchan fan, how could I not do the film?

They say the South Indian industry is technically way ahead of the Hindi film industry. What do you think?

Everything has changed. Waha pe bhi bahut jaldi ho raha hai kaam. Earlier, we used to take two to three years to complete a film but, now, things move very fast. Everything is real quick. Regardless of whether it’s South or Hindi films, actors have become very punctual. At least, that’s what I have heard.